search instagram arrow-down

Top Posts & Pages

Follow Insight & Illusion on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Popularity is Overrated

Blogs I Follow

«

November 2017

»
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2

English Español Français Deutsch Português Bahasa Indonesia Other languages

Social

Time Management And Social Anxiety

I’ve decided after I get time management to a point where I’ve mastered this issue with my manic stages under control I’m going to attack social anxiety.

This means I will have to leave my house…Yikes!

Exposing myself to the fakes and phonies (among other negative and familiars). I can see their game a lot clearer now and I’m pretty good in creating boundaries. I’m used to other “psycho’s” being attracted to me and I know how to keep a respectful distance.

I hate the thought of periodically leaving my safe environment. My existence has to go further than that. I have to become more of a member of society. It’s important to my community that I share my strengths. Those around me will be touched by my positive spirit and humble nature.

*Sigh*

Where will I go?

My options are:

  1. Go to the coffee shop regularly (three times a week? Start at once a week?)
  2. Church (Do I want to deal with religious fanatics at this point in my life? And how about the ones that make me their “project”)
  3. There’s a support group I’ve heard about that I could go to.
  4. Volunteer (Do I want to travel that far in the Wintertime? Will I ever get to the point where I can actually do something so “routine”?)

Well this is all I can think of.

Does anyone have any advice on social matters?

Help!

16 comments on “Time Management And Social Anxiety

  1. Tiegan says:

    I’m not really one to give advice concerning social problems.

    However, I would recommend trying to start a conversation with a stranger.

    This might sound really cheesy and awkward (and you might find it cheesy and awkward at first) but you’ll gain confidence talking to people if you try. Let us know how tackling this problem goes!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank-you! I’ll be sure to post about it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not sure of your age, but at 19 I drove halfway across Canada alone, you learn a lot about yourself when you are forced to interact with strangers, and you also meet some pretty cool people

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! I’m 52 and I used to be much more social when my kids were young I took them to church and had to interact because of school events but now for some reason I’ve totally changed. I don’t leave my house more than a couple times a month and have no desire to!! I really have to turn this around besides the fact that it’s depressing I need to build a support system of some sort!

      Like

      1. Well it’s awesome to see that you have a positive attitude 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Michelle says:

    Hey good for you for making the attempt! That’s very brave of you. I have always found it best to make short term goals that lead up to larger one. And don’t forget to reward yourself and have a lot of self-compassion. Good luck!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Today I go to the Dr and I have acquired this major fear of being robbed because I go into a bad area of town. So today I’m going to face this fear and wear a dress. I usually try to look like a “nobody” but I’m going to wear make-up and do my hair 🙂

      Like

  4. If you don’t like leaving your house that often, can I suggest walking to the end of the road every day and find a bench and sit there watching the world go by for fifteen minutes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good idea! I have a place in mind now that I’m thinking of it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I started off at ten minutes and went all the way to half an hour and then started doing things like a coffee shop, just entering it at first and work from there. Good luck

        Liked by 1 person

      2. GREAT idea!! I have a wonderful coffee shop close to me too! Thank-you so much for that idea 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Its not a problem, let us know how it goes and remember not to push yourself too much otherwise its 1 step forward and 10 steps back

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank-you so much for that tip I really needed to hear that. I’ve only taken Lithium for three days and I was expecting more. I am grateful that you shared that insight!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

meandering life

Who knows what lies around the bend

hocuspocus13

Magickal Arts

