search instagram arrow-down

Top Posts & Pages

Follow Insight & Illusion on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Popularity is Overrated

Blogs I Follow

«

November 2017

»
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 1 2

English Español Français Deutsch Português Bahasa Indonesia Other languages

Social

Coming Down From Mania

I’ve just had a major manic episode. I’m coming down.

Now I have a headache. I’m shaking. I hardly moved from this chair in a week!

I just laid down for a while, still can’t sleep.

My mind is no longer alert. I no longer desire to take on any and every available challenge. I no longer feel like obsessively reading every post in Reader categorized bipolar and leaving a comment.

I really wish I had taken my manic moment and worked out boundaries instead of creating a tribute page to Georgie and Tessa that no one will probably ever see. It is nice to have it, though.

I’m so disappointed in myself. Last month I worked on time management, had my sleep patterns regulated, made and accomplished goals. This month has been a waste.

I did redo my About Me page. I was meticulous (as mania will have it). I used the thesaurus and had the wording just right. I don’t know why I thought more people look at that page.

I feel my peace slowly returning. That intensiveness is passing. I can take deep breaths.

I no longer care about my wording or organizing my blog post.

I really want to work on a post about making boundaries, but I just don’t have it in me right now.

I do feel refreshed after laying down. I wish I could sleep.

Does anyone else experience mania to this degree?

22 comments on “Coming Down From Mania

  1. aunttabbi says:

    Yes sometimes I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so tired I just wish I could sleep

      Like

  2. sharing2009 says:

    I think I have slept half my life away and not by choice. I love life but my mind and body are divorced.. Lol…I just stop punishing myself if I didn’t have a good day and try again tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. sharing2009 says:

        Thank you! Hope you have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. My last manic episode I thought I was superwoman and ended up with stitches and a black eye. Painfully real!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That made me smile. Thank-you for the comment!!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. sharing2009 says:

      Superwoman what s great character! Gald you are okay!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad too! Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

    3. sharing2009 says:

      Glad you are okay.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. sharing2009 says:

        I’m so glad there are other to share all our moments. They are life changing.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Me too it really helps!!

        Like

  4. tracihalpin says:

    Yes indeed and more. This past manic episode was similar to yours. I was trying new things and ready to take on new challenges. It felt good and then I thought hey let’s throw in meeting a new guy in the mix! I stopped sleeping and in one day I wrote 4 posts. I had rage and intense agitation. I increased my seroquel and after 2 days I slept for a lovely 7 hours. I was shaking too. My dr pointed it out. I was a zombie until I got rest. I’m stabilizing now. I’m doing my routines and getting back on a sleep schedule. Just like you I let all those necessary habits fall by the wayside as soon as the clocks changed. November was hell. I guess we have to be gentle with ourselves. We do the best we can. So it was about 2 weeks and now I’m coming back to normal, whatever that is. Thank you for sharing. I feel so alone sometimes. My poor daughter has to live with these inconsistent moods. Her father had to take her during this episode bc of the rage. She’s a teenager and that’s stressful by itself. I hope you are feeling better. Sleep is the first thing to get back. Now I’m sticking to low level stimulating events. Hang in there! 🙏💙

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh geez!! I have five kids and they had to put up with my craziness. I never had rage but I did get irritable. I have so much fun being manic it’s easy to let myself fall into it but I’m working on time management and a daily schedule. I did really good last month and this month not so good but I’m sticking to it and working towards it….we can only hope!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. tracihalpin says:

        You said it hope! My mania usually involves late nights rapid speech taking on new stuff and hypersexuality. That’s the worst!
        You’re right; it can feel good until it goes bad. I usually look back and say what the hell was I thinking?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I was hyper-sexual in my 20’s and 30’s. I’ve had such terrible relationship’s the thought of one gives me a dreaded fear!! I have absolutely NO sex drive!! I asked God to make me a monk and I guess He did because…that part of my life is over. Unless God has something else for me which I would probably be adverse to at this point. I’m pretty independent.

        One time in a manic state I started like TEN online projects!!! I did this for about a year. I learned a lot about internet business though. Plus I got tied into a business idiot with absolutely no sense of concrete planning!! So I cancelled ALL of them and I’m starting ALL new ones only this time I’m going to build foundations and take my time. I don’t have to do every thing NOW!!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. tracihalpin says:

        I know that sense of urgency during mania. I’ve been stabilizing and I feel better. It just sucks bc I know it’s not gone for good. Sometimes I struggle with acceptance of this disease, most likely when it’s acting up. When I was manic and undiagnosed I was always starting new businesses or planning a new life. I wish you peaceful strategies as you do one thing at a time. My sex drive is high but really high during mania. I hate it. It is physically uncomfortable and I usually take extra meds or I miss it and end up in risky situations. This whole thing just sucks😩

        Liked by 2 people

      4. I went CRAZY with business last year and manically started all these projects only to scrap them all and start from scratch. I’m going to use what I have learned so far and take my time starting with a business plan. I’m in the planning stages 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

meandering life

Who knows what lies around the bend

hocuspocus13

Magickal Arts

